United States Begins Implementation of Changes to the Visa Waiver Program

On January 21, 2016, the U.S. Department of Homeland Security and U.S. Department of State announced changes to the Visa Waiver Program (VWP) – the program that makes it possible to enter the U.S. on an ESTA – to comply with recent legislation. You can read the full text of this announcement on the U.S. Department of State website. The key points are:

  • The great majority of Visa Waiver Program travelers from Denmark who use ESTA will not be affected by these changes.
  • The new law does not ban travel to the U.S. or ban admission into the U.S., it requires certain individuals to now apply in person for visas instead of using ESTA.
  • Dual nationals of VWP countries who are also nationals of Iran, Iraq, Sudan or Syria will now need to apply in person at the U.S. Embassy for visas.
  • If you have traveled to Iran, Iraq, Sudan and/or Syria on or after March 1, 2011, you may now need to apply in person for a visa. There are some exemptions to this policy; please contact the U.S. Embassy at CopenhagenESTA@state.gov to inquire whether you may qualify for an exemption.
  • The Embassy will do everything it can to assist travelers; if you have received an official notification about your ESTA status or need to travel to the U.S. very soon, please schedule an expedited visa appointment here.
  • You can also check your ESTA status at https://esta.cbp.dhs.gov/esta/. A video showing you how you can check your ESTA status is available below this text.
  • If you have any questions about the changes to the VWP, please contact the U.S. Embassy at CopenhagenESTA@state.gov to receive more information.