An official website of the United States government

Teddy and EMU in Washington
January 1, 2013

My good friend Emu and I took a trip to the United States of America to visit the Capital city.

In Denmark, the capital is Copenhagen; it is a bit more difficult to explain America´s capital. The United States of America consists of 50 states, and each state has its own capital. You might know some of them, and if you do not, then maybe your teacher could show you on a map. In Tennessee it is Nashville, in Utah it is Salt Lake City, and in Texas it is Austin. But there is also a federal capital called Washington, D.C. The last two letters are short for District of Columbia.

Look at all the pictures, Emu and I took on our trip!